Luxe Box – Spring 2016

Luxe Box Review Spring 2016

Happy Hump Day!  Thanks to the holiday on Friday, we’re already halfway through the week.  Sometimes I find that short weeks feel longer than regular weeks which is annoying.  Thursday at 4:30 PM can’t come soon enough!

Today I’m reviewing my Spring Luxe Box.  Luxe Box is a quarterly Canadian beauty subscription service; included in the box is 7-8 trial-sized beauty and lifestyle items.   The monthly plan costs $26 a month and the annual plan is $96 a year.  I subscribe to the monthly plan as I prefer the freedom to cancel my subscription whenever I please.

So, here’s what my Spring box included:

Luxe Box Review Spring 2016

Smashbox Photo Finish Classic Primer (.25 fl. oz – $44 CAD for 1 oz): I’m not a fan of this primer yet samples of it follow me everywhere I go.  I’ll be giving this away.

Benefit Cosmetics The POREfessional Primer (3.0 mL – $37 CAD for 0.75 oz): A second primer?  Okay I actually don’t mind this one but again, I’ve already got a few of these in my stash already.  Boring.

Jelly Pong Pong Lychee Softening Shower & Bath Gel (30 mL – $15.95 USD): Lychee’s gross me out – I personally think they look and feel like eyeballs. So I can’t say I’m super excited by this but I haven’t tried it out yet.  At first I thought this was a sample size but it appears this actually full-sized.  I can’t imagine paying $15 for this little tube?

POP Beauty Kajal Pen – Inky Purple (0.9 g – $10 USD): This excited me at first as I actually quite like purple eyeliners.  Then I tried it.  This smudged like crazy.  Plus it’s not really all that pigmented so you can’t really tell that it’s purple.  And if you actually want to smudge it out and use the smudger that’s on the end of the brush, it rubs the eyeliner away.  Fail.

Schick Hydro Silk Razor ($12.64 CAD): This seemed like an odd addition to the box but one of the few things that I’m actually going to use.  We typically purchase the value pack of Schick disposable razors from Costco and they work well but every so often its nice to use something a little more luxurious.  I’ve used this a few times and I do enjoy how soft my skin feels after and it definitely reduces the number of nicks and cuts I inflict on myself.  On the down side I don’t find these provide as close of a shave as my disposable razors.

Morgan Taylor Professional Nail Lacquer – Eye Candy (15 mL – $15.83 CAD): I always like getting nail polishes and I’ve never heard of this brand before so its nice to try something new.  If only the colour were more unique – I have this periwinkle shade in other brands so I wish they would have included something a little different.  I have tested this out and the formula seems easy to work with so that’s a bonus.  I struggle with the $15 price tag on this though, as nice as the formula is you wouldn’t catch me paying $15 for a bottle of this.

Model Co BB PLUS Cream Daily All-In-One Skin Perfector Broad Spectrum SPF 30 – Light (35 mL – $22 CAD): This is what excited me most out of the whole box – I love BB creams for the warmer months when slathering a thick layer of makeup on my face is the last thing I want to do.  This pretty much claims to do it all including cover blemishes and imperfections, maintain hydration, correct signs of dullness or fatigue and help protect the skin from UV rays.  Unfortunately I’ve used this twice and I’m not even the least bit impressed.  The coverage of this is so sheer that it does nothing to cover any blemishes or scaring, nor does it brighten or awaken my complexion. It feels pointless to even apply it. On top of that the shade is really orange/yellow so it gives me a really attractive Oompa Looompa glow. And if that isn’t enough,it doesn’t last on my skin.  Both times I’ve used this I’ve applied it in the morning and hung out at home on the couch all day.  After a few hours, the product dissipates off my face and I don’t have a trace of it left.  I could potentially use this as a primer but that’s about it.  Huge disappointment and wouldn’t recommend this.

FullSizeRender (17)

This month they also included two coupons; one for a bonus 3500 Shoppers Optimum points if you purchased the full size of the Benefit POREfessional Primer.  I don’t like it enough to purchase the full size so that won’t be going to use.  The second was $5 razor blades for the Schick razor.  I know razor blades are expensive so I might actually use this.

So, if you couldn’t tell, I’m pretty disappointed with this season’s box.  I feel like there wasn’t a ton of thought put into it (2 primers, a razor, etc.) and the products I was excited to try fell flat.  That said, this is only my third Luxe Box and I was happy with the previous two I’ve received.  Here’s hoping the Summer Luxe Box is more impressive!

Have you tried any of these products?  What are your thoughts on the Spring Luxe Box?  Let me know below.

Thanks for stopping by!
Untitled

2 Replies to “Luxe Box – Spring 2016”

  1. Haha it’s true, lychees do look like eyeballs – I loved that aspect of them as a kid. 😛
    Fivezero did a review of that Jelly Pong Pong shower gel and it’s not good…
    http://blog.fivezero.ca/2016/03/18/jelly-pong-pong-lychee-gel-softening-shower-bath-gel/
    Oh and she also showed that Morgan Taylor nail polish! That one is a winner:
    http://blog.fivezero.ca/2016/03/22/morgan-taylor-professional-nail-lacquer-eye-candy/
    And no, I’m not her personal PR, lol!
    That sucks about the Model Co BB cream – that item interest me most when I saw your photo of the box items. How disappointing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that’s disappointing about the shower gel. Given that price tag I would expect way more from it.
      Glad to read the polish lives up to expectations though! Even though its not a unique shade it’s still a great colour for Spring!
      Its weird because there’s actually decent reviews on the Model Co BB cream. So weird how that works sometimes. 🤔

      Like

Leave a comment